## **Directors of IAASARS & parent institutes**

Institute for Astronomy, Astrophysics, Space Applications and Remote Sensing (2012 - present)			
2018 - present	Spyros Basilakos		
2013 - 2018	Vassilis Charmandaris		
2012 - 2013	Ioannis Daglis (acting director)		
Institute of Astronomy & Astrophysics (1999 - 2012)		Institute for Space Applications and Remote Sensing (1999 - 2012)	
2007 - 2012	Christos Goudis	2010 - 2012	Ioannis Daglis
2001 - 2006	Christos Goudis	2006 - 2010	Ioannis Daglis
1999 - 2001	Dimitris P. Lalas (acting director)	2005 - 2006	Christos Zerefos (acting director)
		1999 - 2004	Panayotis Mathiopoulos
Astronomical Institute <sup>[1]</sup> (1942 - 1999)		Institute of Ionospheric and Space Physics (1991 - 1999)	
1994 - 1999	Evangelos Kontizas	1998 - 1999	Dimitris P. Lalas (acting director)
1983 - 1994	Constantin J. Macris (acting director)	1996 - 1998	Dimitrios Dialetis
1975 - 1982	George Contopoulos	1991 - 1996	Emmanuel T. Sarris
1965 - 1974	Demetrios Kotsakis		
1942 - 1964	Stavros Plakidis	]	
Astronomy Department <sup>[2]</sup> National Observatory of Athens (1890 - 1942)		Ionospheric Institute (1955 - 1991)	
1935 - 1941	Stavros Plakidis	1989 - 1991	George Moraitis
1890 - 1934	Demetrios Eginitis	1977 - 1989	Constantin Caroubalos
		1955 - 1977	Michael Anastassiades
Observatory of Athens (1846 - 1890)			
1890 - 1934	Demetrios Eginitis		
1884 - 1890	Demetrios Kokkidis		
1858 - 1884	Julius Schmidt		
1855 - 1858	Ioannis Papadakis		
1846 - 1855	George Bouris		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>III</sup> In 1942, a new legislation restructured the administration of NOA by creating the positions of three Directors for the corresponding Departments of Astronomy, Meteorology and Seismology. Head of NOA was the President of the Board of the Directors, a position rotating every two years among the three Directors. This system continued until 1983, when a separate position of President of NOA and Chair of the Board of Directors was created.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>[2]</sup> A legislation which became effective on June 19 1890, transformed the Observatory of Athens to a national research institute, renaming it as National Observatory of Athens (NOA) and appointing Prof. Demetrios Eginitis as its first director. Furthermore, in addition to the existing Astronomy Department the legislation founded the new Departments of Meteorology and Seismology. This is the starting point of the Astronomical Institute as an independent unit within NOA.